Club v Cambridge: Team News

Posted by

Cambridge are the visitors to Well Half tomorrow. Kick off is at 3 pm.

Since Cambridge’s return to domestic rugby’s third level in 2016, the two sides have met on seven occasions, with Blackheath holding the advantage of five wins to just one to Cambridge, and a draw.  

Note, however, Cambridge’s solitary success was on their last trip to Well Hall a year ago, when a 22-3 half-time lead to the hosts was overturned with three second-period tries for a 22-27 victory, a result that all but extinguished the Club’s lingering promotion hopes for the season.

Blackheath v Cambridge at Well Hall (Eltham, London, UK) on the 2nd February 2019, London, United Kingdom

Renowned for their attacking style of play, Cambridge quickly rattled up a 24-10 advantage in the reverse fixture in this campaign in November, but this time it was Blackheath who turned the tables in the second half, Mike Perks securing the win with a try just two minutes from time, the final score 24-25.

Although it’s forecast to stop raining by kick off, the conditions may not suit Cambridge’s flair tomorrow.  However, the men from the Fens have been in decent form of late, winning seven of their last nine games with their only defeats coming at the hands of Rosslyn Park and Plymouth Albion.

Such is the interest in this fixture that the pre match lunch was long since fully booked, but the Bite Me Burger Bar will be open to feed us all and Clayton, our popular resident singer, will be here to provide pre and post match entertainment. 

Jack Daly, Nick Foster and Alex Pickersgill return to the backline for Blackheath tomorrow, while Josh Peters is also a starter in the second-row. 

Shek Sheriff returns to action via the bench.

Blackheath team to play Cambridge.  Kick-off 3 pm.

15.Leo Fielding
14.Jake Lloyd
13.Alex Pickersgill
12.Markus Burcham (Capt)
11.Nick Foster
10.Mark Cooke
9.Jack Daly
1.Tom Williams
2.Harry Fry
3.Harry Seward
4.Neale Patrick
5.Josh Peters
6.Freddie Owen
7.Josh Poole
8.Tom Burns
16.Mike Perks
17.Danny Herriott
18.Shek Sheriff
19.Stef Liebenberg
20.Craig Dowsett

Tim Brindle

Leave a Reply